Sunset over the port of Labuan Bajo

As I said in my previous post, Labuan Bajo is the main city of West Manggarai District in Flores. It is located at the western part of Flores Island, Indonesia. Beside can be reached through the air, Labuan Bajo can also be reached through the sea. The former small fishing village now is one of the centers of tourism. Many ships mooring around the port of Labuan Bajo transporting local and foreign travelers who want to visit Flores and many interesting small islands off the shore of Labuan Bajo.

the port of Labuan Bajo as seen from atop of a nearby hill

the port of Labuan Bajo as seen from atop of a nearby hill

It is said that in the past, the place was the landing point of Bajo tribe fishermen that came from Sulawesi. In the local language, to land can also be translated as “berlabuh”. Thus the name Labuan Bajo was derived from “tempat berlabuh suku Bajo” or the place where the Bajos were landed.

After visited the Batu Cermin Cave, in my way back to the hotel, I passed through a hill overlooking the busy port of Labuan Bajo. I decided to stop for a while to see the port from a far. Fortunately, not too far from the place I stopped, there is a local café where travelers can spend time to enjoy sunset while sipping a cup of hot Flores Coffee. So . . . I followed my friends who directly went to the café and ordering a cup of Flores Coffee to be brought to the verandah overlooking the sea to watch the sun took its daily break while sipping the delicious coffee 🙂

Categories: Travel Pictures | Tags: , , | 64 Comments

Post navigation

64 thoughts on “Sunset over the port of Labuan Bajo

  1. cartouchetonerimprimante

    nice pictures and thanks for the information

  2. Beautiful Chris. Have a wonderful day! Robyn

  3. Your sunsets are stunning!!

  4. wow !! wonderful

  5. labuan bajo, one of my ‘where to go before die’
    my siblings told that he had the best trip ever over there…..
    thx for sharing the beauty of labuan bajo

  6. Chris, such gorgeous pictures!! I love the colors. I want you to know that I really like your blog. AND I appreciate the way you visit my blog as well!!!🙂 Please accept this award as my sincere compliment, and enjoy it for what it means to you. If you want to pass it to another versatile blogger, you can check out the rules that I received here http://wp.me/p2jC53-160. Thanks for being part of my blogging life. 🙂 Marsha Lee

    • Marsha, you are always very kind to me. Thanks for the award though I don’t think that I deserve it.

      • That’s the nice thing about rewards. Who really deserves them? They are a nice way to say, “I’m reading what you write, and I like it.” Isn’t that what we all want to know???? We all deserve to be heard!!! 🙂

      • Well, in that case you’re absolutely right, Marsha 🙂

  7. keren foto nya …
    salam kenal

  8. So beautiful! I would love to have one of those sunsets framed hanging over my desk to remind me of the ocean and warmth.

  9. Beautiful place!!! Great shots!!!

  10. Wuaaaaaaaaa! Ngilerrrrrr lagiiii! Mauu donkkkk diajaakkkkk!:D

  11. petit4chocolatier

    Gorgeous! I love the skies!!

  12. sunsetnya dramatis dan indah om🙂

    • Terimakasih sudah mampir.
      Iya itu kebetulan dapat lumayan bagus, padahal sebelumnya udah dag dig dug karena mendung berat seperti yang kelihatan di foto nomor 2.

  13. Beautiful place and excellent photos It must be great to watch a sunset there while sipping the coffee.

  14. Mantap. .mantap!

  15. Indah foto”nya. .

  16. Wow, some gorgeous pictures up there, Pak Chris. I shall definitely visit the place one day. Labuan Bajo is not very far from my dad’s home village after all.

    Thank you for sharing, Pak Chris..🙂

    Subhan Zein

  17. Beautiful as always.

    xoxo,
    mei

  18. i absolutely love the pink sunsets! lovely…

  19. i saved a couple of pictures so that i can put them on the background of my computer..hope u don’t mind🙂

  20. Beautiful shots!!! Nice place!!!

  21. Labuan Bajo has the most beautiful sunset ever!

  22. Your photos are really soothing to look at, Chris. How marvelous for you to have actually been there in beautiful Labuan Bajo. Thank you for your visits to my blog.🙂

    • Thank you, Sylvia. It was only a good fate that brought me to Labuan Bajo 😛
      For my visit to yours, well . . . I will always visiting your blog from time to time 🙂

  23. Great pictures!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

