Listening to nature whispers on a quiet small island

one of the beaches in pulau burong

one of the beaches in pulau burong

There are many small islands scattered around Belitong. Most of them are uninhabited. On my way to visit Pulau Lengkuas, I stopped on one of those small islands called Pulau Burong, which literally can be translated as Bird Island. It got its name because there is a big granite rock in the form of a bird’s head located very close to the island. The rock, which is known as Batu Burong or the bird rock, is become one of Belitong’s icon now.

Many activities can be done in Pulau Burong. For them who like snorkeling, the best spot is under the bird stone, because a lot of beautiful sea creatures live in there. For the active type traveler, they can explore the island through a field full of coconut trees to look for any hidden beaches or unique structured boulders.

For them who just want to stay on the beach and enjoy the quiet surrounding, there are white sandy beaches around the island with many unique stone formations that can be used just for relaxing or lazying around under the sun.

I visited the island neither in week-ends nor holidays, so there were no other visitors except for me and my family on the island, at that time. It was so quiet; a perfect place for contemplating. As for myself, well . . . I enjoyed the luxurious feeling to live in a private island, although it only lasted not more than one hour  :P 😀

Categories: Travel Pictures | Tags: , , | 68 Comments

Post navigation

68 thoughts on “Listening to nature whispers on a quiet small island

  1. selalu mantabs..!!😀

  2. One word: Paradise🙂
    Clear water, blue skies, green lush trees…beautiful pictures!

  3. it seems like a dream…Very nice place

  4. Bellissime immagini….ma tu abiti da queste parti?
    E’ fantastico…..

  5. This is amazing. I promise myself I’ll go there one day.

  6. Beautiful place; hope I can visit. Pulau Lengkuas, Pulau Burung,,,beautiful names, indah sekali.

  7. luar biasa

  8. beautiful! what a wonderful luxury to just spend an afternoon there.. you know, rock in Filipino is called “bato” ^^

  9. It’s a fucking amazing! Doh! Bahasanya menggila.

  10. fotonya om cris ini loh selalu bikin perasaan gimanaaaa gitu yah hehehe

  11. is just paradise, sss, sun sand and sea, to make up the owner of these pictures – great Blogger!

  12. mas Chris kayaknya kok jalan jalan terus ya kerjanya, ke tempat yg cantik cantik
    foto fotonya juga selalu cantik !!

  13. metamocca

    Kereeeeeeennn ^^

  14. petit4chocolatier

    Paradise!

  15. True paradise!

  16. beautiful beaches …
    stunning pictures …

  17. Very nice pictures, Chris! But then you are in the heart of things when it comes to finding motives for photography.

    • Thank you Seenorway. It is a pleasure to have you visit my blog.

      • Pure pleasure! It woke to life some memories I have from a visit to Christmas Island ages ago!
        I’m not talking abour the H-bomb Christmas Isl., but the little speck of dirt on the map lying 400 miles southwest of the Sunda straits. Unfortunately I don’t have any pictures from that trip ‘caus at the time I was working with an 8 mm movie camera that is practically a museum article today. You can’t even find projectors that may run such films.

    • It is a big loss if there are no such projectors that can run your films, even bigger loss if there are no other devices which can be used to convert your work into something that can run in modern devices.

      • I rember I succeeded in converting some of these films to a VHS-tape, bnut now the problem has moved: No more VHS-machines🙂

    • I think you can still find what so called VHS-machine in antique stores, or if you make any trip to Asia. Once you find it, you have to convert all of your work to CD or DVD at once. Hope that CD or DVD machine will last long 🙂

      • as you probasbly know, they’re already on the way out. Now it’s ‘blueray’, but – Adam was never in ‘Paradise’ for a very long time.🙂 Today the techniques seem to change so fast that nothing may be preserved for more than 25 years?

    • Ha ha ha . . . you are right. But at our age, 25 years ahead will seems like eternity. Am I right? 🙂

      • I should think so! At the present I’m passsing a milestone with a ’76’ -mark on the top 😀

    • 😀 😀

  18. We had our first snow of the season today, so these pictures are even more tempting. It looks like there’s little or no human-caused harm there – is that right? I agree with you – nobody else being around really makes it the paradise!

    • You’re right Sid. At least it was no human-caused harm found when I visited the island.
      Do you know, it’s somehow funny, how people in the snowing country want to go to the tropics, while people here want to experience the snow-falling condition 🙂

      • The grass is always greener… Another of my blogging friends mentioned how she hadn’t ever seen frost – I replied that I didn’t know whether to tell her to count her blessings or to feel sad for her!

    • Yup, you’re right. It always happened everywhere that the grass is always greener on the other side 🙂

  19. How did this beach happen to be so unoccupied? It looks like paradise. Great photos!

    • On week-end and public holidays, the beach will be fully occupied by visitors. I intentionally chose to be there on week-days so I could listen to nature whispers instead of noise made by other visitors 🙂

      • Well you achieved your goal. I’d love to be one of the lovely visitors that make noise on the week-ends, but like you, I would prefer the week-days. What beauty! Thanks for sharing! Marsha🙂

    • My pleasure, Marsha 🙂

  20. selalu terpesona dg cepratannya apalagi lihat gulungan awannya.

  21. Dear Friend.

    Your blog is nominated for THE BLOG OF THE YEAR award and to VERY INSPIRING BLOGGER AWARD simultaneously. I hope you will accept it

    Best regard and recpect,
    Wanda ALE KSIĄZKI / AND YET THE BOOKS

    See: http://wandamichalakdomkuncewiczow.wordpress.com/2012/12/11/my-top-list/

  22. Amazing place!!!

  23. It is hard to believe a place so beautiful exists. Thank you for sharing.

  24. I came back to look at the rocks–love them! The smooth shapes and that you went there when it was free of other visitors. Lucky you!

    • I love the nature, especially the rock formation in that island, too. And yes, I was quite lucky to be in there without any other visitors 🙂

  25. JK Bevill - Lost Creek Publishing

    Reblogged this on lost creek publishing.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

